06.05.2015 | Austria

S&T AG: sustaining strong growth

- Sales rise a strong 17% to EUR 92.8 million (PY: EUR 79.2 million)
- EBITDA increases by 22% to EUR 5,8 million (PY: EUR 4,8 million)
- Technology products catapult gross margin to 36.1% (PY: 32.5%)

S&T AG (www.snt.at) further accelerated its growth in the first three months of financial year 2015. Sales came to EUR 92.8 million, as opposed to EUR 79.2 million in the first quarter of 2014, corresponding to a rise of 17%. This growth stemmed from the entry undertaken in 2014 in the Appliances Smart Energy segment and from the strong improvement in business registered by the Appliances Security segment.

The improvement in the company's product mix comprised the addition of high-technology innovations. This, in turn, caused the gross margin to develop gratifyingly well. It increased from the first quarter of 2014's 32.5% to the first quarter of 2015's 36.1%. The greater value added manifested itself in the 22% rise in EBITDA, which came to EUR 5.8 million (PY: EUR 4.8 million) and in consolidated income, which amounted to EUR 2.7 million (PY: EUR 2.4 million).

The turnaround of the “Services Germany, Austria and Switzerland” segment proceeded accorded to plans. The segment's sales declined from the first quarter of 2014's EUR 23.4 million to the first quarter of 2015's EUR 19.8 million. The segment's gross margin rose to 23.3% (PY.: 19.8%). Its earnings for the period substantially improved to EUR 0.2 million (PY: EUR -0.1 million). The “Services EE” segment was able to increase its sales by some 5% to EUR 45.5 million (PY: EUR 43.5 million). As had often been the case in the past, it was the “Appliances Security” segment that drove corporate growth in the first quarter of 2015. Its sales rose to EUR 16.9 million (PY: EUR 12.0 million), with its earnings for the quarter's keeping pace, rising by 40% to EUR 2.8 million (PY: EUR 2.0 million). New products and newly-entered business fields will further this trend.

The “Appliances Smart Energy” segment was constituted in financial year 2014. It supplied EUR 10.7 million (PY: EUR 0,3 million) to corporate sales in the first quarter of 2015. The start-up costs incurred and the investments recognized in profit and losses in new products caused the segment to register an initial loss of EUR 0.8 million. The “Patagonia” family of smart grid products is set to be introduced in the third quarter of this financial year. Its USPs (unique selling points) are its improvements of security functions. Management assumes that the sustaining of investments in promising products and technologies will cause the “Appliances Smart Energy” segment to start operating in the black in 2016.

Seasonal effects manifested themselves in the company's assets and liquidity in the first quarter of 2015. Equity increased to EUR 95.1 million (31.12.2014: EUR 89.7 million), causing the equity rate as of 31.3.2015 to climb to 37.6% (31.12.2014: 32.8%). Liquid funds as of 31.3.2015 declined to EUR 26.8 million (31.12.2014: EUR 39.5 million). This was primarily due to the negative operative cash flow prevailing as of the beginning of the year. This cash flow came to EUR -17.0 million (PY. EUR 0 million). Another cause was the making of further investments. Short and long-term liabilities to banks increased to EUR 47.1 million as of 31.3.2015 (31.12.2014: EUR 41.0 million). The company's number of employees came to 2,293 people, as compared to 2,219 employees as of 31.12.2014.

The growth being turned in by the “Appliances Smart Energy” segment is causing the management to forecast for the current financial year the S&T Group's achieving a strong, 20% rise in sales, which are expected to come to EUR 465 million. Despite the start-up costs being incurred by the “Appliances Smart Energy” segment, consolidated income is predicted to increase to EUR 15 million.

Planned for 2016 are a double digit rise in sales and profits exceeding that. S&T's record amount of orders on hand of EUR 165 million and of projects in the pipeline worth EUR 663 million underpin these ambitious goals for growth!

On S&T AG:
S&T AG (www.snt.at, ISIN AT0000A0E9W5, WKN A0X9EJ, SANT) is a high-tech corporation. It employs some 2,300 employees, and maintains subsidiaries and offices in 19 countries. S&T AG provides IT systems. It is listed on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange's Prime Standard segment. These systems are comprised in the company's comprehensive portfolio of IT solutions and services. These make S&T one of the leading suppliers in Central and Eastern Europe. S&T is a renowned manufacturer of products featuring proprietary technologies. Its wide-ranging portfolio includes proprietary developments in such areas as appliances and cloud security. S&T commenced in 2014 the development of its Smart Energy business area. Through its Networked Energy Services Corporation (www.networkedenergy.com) subsidiary, S&T is among the world's leading suppliers of smart grid technologies.

06.05.2015 | Austria

S&T AG: Kontinuierliches Wachstum setzt sich fort

- Umsatz steigt deutlich um 17% auf EUR 92,8 Mio. (Vj.: EUR 79,2 Mio.)
- EBITDA steigt um 22% auf EUR 5,8 Mio. (Vj.: EUR 4,8 Mio)
- Technologieprodukte katapultieren Bruttomarge auf 36,1% (Vj.: 32,5%)

Die S&T AG (www.snt.at) konnte in den ersten drei Monaten des Geschäftsjahres 2015 das Wachstum abermals beschleunigen: Der Umsatz stieg auf EUR 92,8 Mio. gegenüber EUR 79,2 Mio. im Vergleichsquartal 2014 – das entspricht einem Zuwachs von 17%. Neben dem 2014 erfolgten Einstieg in das Segment „Appliances Smart Energy“ trug signifikantes Wachstum im Segment „Appliances Security“ zu diesem Umsatzwachstum bei.

Bedingt durch eine Verbesserung des Produktmix mit mehr Technologieprodukten hat sich die Bruttomarge erfreulich entwickelt. Während diese im ersten Quartal 2014 noch bei 32,5 Prozent lag, konnte im ersten Quartal 2015 ein Anstieg auf 36,1% erzielt werden. Die hohe Wertschöpfung führte mit 22% Zuwachs zu einer deutlichen Steigerung des EBITDA auf EUR 5,8 Mio. (Vj.: EUR 4,8 Mio.) mit einem Konzernergebnis von EUR 2,7 Mio. (Vj.: EUR 2,4 Mio.).

Der Turnaround im Segment „Services DACH“ verläuft planmäßig. Während sich der Umsatz im ersten Quartal von EUR 23,4 Mio. im Jahr 2014 auf EUR 19,8 Mio. im aktuellen Geschäftsjahr reduzierte, waren die Bruttomarge mit 23,3% (Vj.: 19,8%) und das Periodenergebnis mit EUR 0,2 Mio. (Vj.: EUR -0,1 Mio.) deutlich besser. Im Segment „Services EE“ konnten die Umsätze um rund 5% auf EUR 45,5 Mio. (Vj.: EUR 43,5 Mio.) gesteigert werden. Einmal mehr zählte das Segment „Appliances Security“ im ersten Quartal 2015 zu den Wachstumstreibern: Ein Umsatzanstieg auf EUR 16,9 Mio. (Vj.: EUR 12,0 Mio.) und eine proportionale Erhöhung des Segmentergebnisses um 40% auf EUR 2,8 Mio. (Vj.: EUR 2,0 Mio.) zeigen die positive Entwicklung deutlich. Dank neuer Produkte und dem Einstieg in neue Geschäftsfelder soll sich dieser Trend weiter fortsetzen.

Das im Geschäftsjahr 2014 neu formierte Segment „Appliances Smart Energy“ trug im ersten Quartal EUR 10,7 Mio. (Vj.: EUR 0,3 Mio.) zu den Umsätzen bei. Anfallende Anlaufkosten und aufwandswirksame Investitionen in neue Produkte führten im ersten Quartal zu Anlaufverlusten von EUR 0,8 Mio. Bereits im dritten Quartal des laufenden Jahres soll die neue Smart-Grid-Produktfamilie „Patagonia“ vorgestellt werden, die vor allem mit deutlich verbesserten Security-Funktionalitäten überzeugt. Das Management geht aufgrund der fortlaufenden Investitionen in zukunftsträchtige Produkte und Technologien davon aus, dass im Segment „Appliances Smart Energy“ bereits ab 2016 positive Ergebnisbeiträge erwirtschaftet werden können.

Die Vermögens- und Liquiditätslage spiegelt im ersten Quartal 2015 saisonale Effekte wider: Das Eigenkapital erhöhte sich auf EUR 95,1 Mio. (31.12.2014: EUR 89,7 Mio.), sodass die Eigenkapitalquote per 31.3.2015 bei 37,6% lag (31.12.2014: 32,8%). Die liquiden Mittel verringerten sich zum 31.3.2015 auf EUR 26,8 Mio. (31.12.2014: EUR 39,5 Mio.), was vor allem auf den zu Jahresbeginn negativen operativen Cashflow von EUR -17,0 Mio. (Vj.: EUR 0 Mio.) sowie auf weitere Investitionen zurückzuführen ist. Die kurz- und langfristigen Bankverbindlichkeiten stiegen auf EUR 47,1 Mio. zum 31.3.2015 (31.12.2014: EUR 41,0 Mio.). Der Personalstand lag bei 2.293 Mitarbeitern gegenüber 2.219 Mitarbeitern zum 31.12.2014.
Basierend auf dem Wachstum im Segment „Appliances Smart Energy“ erwartet das Management im laufenden Geschäftsjahr für den Gesamtkonzern ein starkes, 20%iges Umsatzwachstum auf EUR 465 Mio. Der Konzernüberschuss soll – trotz der Anlaufverluste im Segment „Appliances Smart Energy“ – auf EUR 15 Mio. steigen.

2016 ist bei überproportional steigenden Profiten ein zweistelliges Umsatzwachstum geplant. Der Rekord-Auftragsbestand von EUR 165 Mio. und die Rekord-Projekt-Pipeline von EUR 663 Mio. bekräftigen diese ehrgeizigen Wachstumsziele!

Über die S&T AG:
Der Technologiekonzern S&T AG (www.snt.at, ISIN AT0000A0E9W5, WKN A0X9EJ, SANT) ist mit rund 2.300 Mitarbeitern und Niederlassungen in 19 Ländern weltweit tätig. Als Systemhaus ist das im Frankfurter Prime Standard notierte Unternehmen mit einem umfassenden Lösungsportfolio einer der führenden Anbieter von IT-Dienstleistungen und IT-Lösungen in Zentral- und Osteuropa. S&T verfügt als namhafter Hersteller zudem über ein großes Portfolio an Eigentechnologien, etwa in den Bereichen Appliances bzw. Cloud-Security. Seit 2014 baut S&T den Geschäftszweig „Smart Energy“ auf und zählt, insbesondere mit der Networked Energy Services Corporation (www.networkedenergy.com), zu den weltweit führenden Anbietern von Smart-Grid-Technologien.